10.6

And as a follow up on yesterday's upgrade tale, I took the plunge into OS X 10.6. Nice upgrade that was really easy (even added a new hard drive in the process).

But why stop there, how about a little Windows 7 64bit via Boot Camp action? I have a 64bit system, should be not problem, right? Oh. Yeah. This is Apple we are talking about, they don't play nice. Turns out, they have this arbitrary date before which they don't support Windows 7 64bit on 64bit Apple hardware. Oh, how nice of you Apple, what a lovely way to tell me my year old computer is just too old and that I really should buy a new Mac.

Well Apple, you know what I say to that, have a poke in the eye, I'm doing it anyway.

And I did. Wasn't really that hard, just had to play a little Jedi Mind Trick on Apple's Boot Camp and force it to install the 64bit drives that are right there, but that Apple does not want me to know about. Can you believe that, the drivers are there, but Apple purposefully obfuscates them from the user and pops a little screen up saying that 'your system is not compatible'. Total BS. It's funny, I would not even be able to get to that point if my system really wasn't compatible. Oh, the irony. I just forced my way in through the command line.

What's even more ironic is that my touch pad works better in Windows than it does in OS X, I can finally tap the pad (rather than the button) to select an item, or double tap to launch/open it. Windows users will be like, "Uh, yeah, been doing that for, like, years?!"

Only gotcha so far is that my web cam does not seem to work under Windows 7, no biggy, I boot into OS X for video chat anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.