Digging the spuds

Spent the morning at the allotment, while Susan was working, digging up over 4 rows of potatoes. The 2 rows to the right of this shot are Cara and the 2 to the left are Lady Balfour. This is the best crop of potatoes I've ever had from the allotment and will keep us going throughout the winter I hope.

I think that Cara were the better cropping potato but Lady Balfour has the nicest shape. Whatever they're like it was backbreaking work getting them all up, almost as hard as planting them back in April. But planting this year was made easier by using a potato planting tool. Also harvested more dwarf French beans, courgettes, apples and pears. Another good haul.

I'm now off to a Governors' meeting at a local primary school, but dinner is all cooked and only needs warming up when I get back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.