An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Sun Breaks Through...

...the foggy morning.

My 750th consecutive Blip - not a recognised Blipday, but half way between 500 and 1000, which ARE!

Such BIG apologies for not replying to any of the lovely super comments and Favourites that got my pink misty dawn blip of yesterday - I see that (to my pleasant surprise) that it reached the lofty Spotlight position of #2.

Basically, I went to bed for a quick kip after posting my Blip from the exhausting Winchester trip, lovely as it was. The quick kip turned into many hours. I awoke with a blinding migraine. I took (the regularly prescribed) Imagran for that and which knocked me out.

I woke up to see it light and foggy. No milk or bread. In the oven went all that I could find in the freezer: garlic bread and a beefburger.

I decided that perhaps I'd been spending a bit too much chasing Blips, of late.

So, what did I do?

Went chasing Blips, in a cobwebby Cathedral Close. The Cathedral itself was barely visible, the Spire not at all. Looked superb, but didn't make for such great photos, though. Had lots of leafy foregrounds, all looking nice.

With the weather forecast in mind, I knew that the sun would win, at some point. Eventually, it battled through, not as spectacularly as I have witnessed it, but I did like the shadows cast through the bench and the figures marching inward added to it. The statue next to them has been a regular feature for as long as I can remember.

Worth going LARGE

Yes, the sky is a bit burned out but it was still misty and would have been almost impossible to reign in. But, for me, it was essential to maintain a sense of ethereal brightness and wonder, as if a Light from a higher place was powering in (I'm not religious). I tried black and white but couldn't come up with anything worthwhile in the time I allotted and in any case, I like the greens of the lawn, here.

From there, it was a proper breakfast at a certain hostelry chain and then the bus down to my Dad's. I haven't been for a while. He is well and we had a good time. I took Milo for a good walk. I only got back from there an hour ago.

So, certain duties done, though the food supplies have yet to be brought in very soon. (No more garlic bread and burgers left for tomorrow's breakfast!).

Promise promise and promise to get back to Blip now and tomorrow. Thank you again for sticking by!

Lens is Sigma EX 24-70mm f2.8, on full-frame D700

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.