Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Perili Bay View Sunburst (from our bedroom)

One couple who accompanied us off the gullet are Julian and Julia. Julian is 64, overweight and quiet. During the cruise he mostly sat at the back of the boat, looking out to sea, and having an alcoholic drink. He never seems to read a book or magazine, or do much at all. He looks very much like my old running partner, the Conservative member of Parliament, Peter Bone (Northants). He always wears a white tennis type t-shirt, which he has a habit of staining with jam or sauce. He informed me he has a couple of dozen with him and just changes them!

Now we are at the resort, he sits in the bar drinking thai cocktails, before going to the room for a sleep, and then continues in the afternoon. He has a scar the whole length of his leg, and an amputated big toe, which he informs me was as the result of smoking. He's diabetic, and has two sugars in his tea.

This mostly leaves his partner on her own. Julia is about the same age, She's a buxom lady who used to be a nurse but is now a piano teacher. She's very chatty and friendly and puts up with me playing pranks on her. She has a new camera and it's now become my job to teach her how to use it! I like her. If I lived closer I'd let her teach me the piano, as I'm struggling with my guitar!

Julian lived in Alderney (Channel Islands) for 10 years but had to leave from the embarassment when his wife ran off with his best friend and took all his money. This was his third wife. He must have a personality and I'm working on finding it.

After a cool start to the morning, it hotted up and late afternoon I went back to our 'house' (it's massive and over two floors) where I took the blip photo from the bedroom window. I couldn't resist the sunburst and the view over Perili Bay. The place is like a swiss chalet all decked out in wood and lovely stone.

We're booked in to the Al a carte restaurant Wednesday. Julian and Julia are also going and have let us share their table as it was fully booked. I bet he'll be wearing one of those white shirts. Hopefully it'll be clean!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.