Daddy Longlegs

This evening I'm giving a talk at the Basingstoke Green Week, so I was careful on my way into work to find something to blip in case I didn't get a chance in the evening. This blip of a daddy longlegs (probably Tipula paludosa ♂) is my effort for the day, it was sunning its self on an advertising banner against the new prison care home for old people in Basingstoke.

My talk in the council chamber went well, even though I had to gallop somewhat to stay to time. There was quite a lively debate afterwards which I always take to be a good thing.

It's not the best macro shot in the world but I'm happy and you can clearly see the halteres, which have evolved from the second pair of wings and are characteristic of true flies, of which this is one.

(back blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.