Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Vulcan

I missed seeing the Vulcan yesterday but as I said in my Blip, I'd not really expected to see it anyway unlike today, when I knew it had a planned flight. Today was its final flight for 2014 and it was doing a tour of all the airfields at which the Vulcans, Valients and Victors were stationed during the Cold War. We went over to the Heritage Motor Centre at Gaydon, Warwickshire, as this was one of the recommended vantage points and we were not disappointed. The Centre itself is worth a visit if you are interested in cars; it has exhibits of many old cars, prototype and experimental cars, and some cars featured in films including the Land Rover from 'Skyfall', another from 'Lara Croft: Tomb Raider', a futuristic one from 'Judge Dredd' and a replica time machine DeLorean from 'Back to the Future 2'. Oh, and FAB 1, Lady Penelope's car from the film version of 'Thunderbirds'!

But then to the main event. The Vulcan was not doing a full display, but it made several circuits of us over about ten minutes. Another really stirring performance, and I will look forward to seeing it again next year - which at the moment looks as though it will be its last year of flying.

A few more pictures from today here if anyone would like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.