The Aga

Hi Tom

Great to have you FaceTime last night. Your hotel looks lovely. Nice that you got to look around Seattle before you set off for Vancouver.

I had to have the chimney sweep out to clean the flue of the aga. The aga had gone out and the guy who came to service it said to get the chimney swept first before he serviced it as it was full of soot. The poor guy was here for over two hours. There was so much soot inside the aga no wonder it had stopped working. But it was fascinating looking into my aga to see how it's all put together and I now understand how it works. This is what you find under the hot stones that I cook on.

The cooking stone was extremely heavy and difficult to take out. Under the stone was another flat plate that the cooking stone sat on. Under the plate was what you can see now. This is the wick and right in the centre is the oil chamber.

We had trouble lighting the wick but found the problem was the oil chamber was clogged up with soot too. It's surprising where it gets to. But between us we got it going. I don't think I need the aga guy to come and service it now.

I also cleaned and cleared out my washing room. What a job that was. It's so much better now and I have room to put my old fridge freezer in.

I also battled on with a bit more strimming....I'm getting there.

Good luck with your game tonight. Wish we could watch but it's rather late for us.....so make sure you text me the details. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.