chantler63

By chantler63

Conkers

I love the time of year when conkers appear. I love their shiny coats and the way they liberally scatter all over the ground. I love picking up a case and opening it to be the first person in the world to see that glossy conker. Magical.

Unfortunately, most conker trees (officially known as horse chestnuts) are infected with leaf miners. These parasites burrow in the leaves and will eventually kill the trees. I can't find anything which actually eats the conkers, possibly squirrels and chipmunks, which seems rather a waste of a plentiful supply. So they will just have to stay as playthings for thousands of children!

I have practised with reflecting an image in water bubbles - I do find it hard to focus accurately with the macro lens. This is one of the more successful focussing shots reflecting the conkers and leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.