Portland Charm

If we lived here, I'd want a house just like this blue one, with a big front porch where I could watch folks strolling, jogging, or bicycling by, and loads of pretty flowers still blooming in autumn! We continue to marvel at the wide variety of trees, shrubs, vegetables, and flowers here, even though there are fallen leaves on sidewalks and streets, harbingers of the seasons' turning.

Our train home leaves at 2:45pm tomorrow (Saturday), arriving in Bellingham at 9:00pm if there are no delays. It's going to feel strange to enter our large three-story home after a week of living in a one-room (plus tiny bathroom) cottage, and to have to drive everywhere, after walking and taking buses here. That said, I'm eagerly looking forward to using my desktop computer, instead of my iPad, which still holds many mysteries, in my opinion.

We checked off the last major beer destination on Phil's list today, Belmont Station, where we spent several hours this afternoon enjoying a variety of (intentionally) sour beers and the excellent hearty sandwiches offered there. Mine was baked eggplant, roasted red pepers, fennel, homemade fresh mozzarella, and pesto, and tasted wonderful!

We'll check out here about 11am, but will leave our luggage in the garage and walk to a nearby restaurant for brunch, then come back for our bags and call a taxi to take us to the train station. I'll be back on Blipfoto on Sunday, and next week I expect to post my first blip entry using a photo from my new camera (buying time with that vague "next week"!)

See Phil's take on the day here.

Blip 1046

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.