Weeping Willow

Daylight saving begins at 2.am tomorrow morning. Sunrise here today was at 6.04 am. Tomorrow morning the sun will rise at 7.02 am. In order to make the most of the early morning light, the dogs and I were walking around 6.am. That means if I want to walk at 6.am tomorrow it will really be only 5.am and as dark as the inside of a cow. I reckon we will be walking a little later.
I find it hard to get my head around daylight saving to start with…my body wants to stick at the old times. And then there is the marathon of putting all the clocks in the house forward. We have a list. It is VERY long. It goes on and on…….Oven clock, fax machine, shower clock, car clocks, numerous wrist watches (I have a fetish about wrist watches), camera clocks ?number? (We won’t go there)…microwave, stereos systems….and so on it goes.
When I was a child I was given my first wrist watch when I started secondary school. We had a clock in the kitchen which my father used as an alarm clock. My father had a pocket watch, mother had a wrist watch. There was a chiming clock in the living room and a couple of old black marble clocks in other rooms that did not work. There was no need for alarm clocks for us children as our Aunty Kate, who lived with us nearly all our lives, had a built in alarm clock. She would wake us in the morning if we did not appear for the porridge which she had soaked overnight. So there you go…. Only two significant clocks in our house. And today we would have…..I have lost count…. Around 40 at a guess.
After walking the dogs I made a quick trip to the Taylor Dam in order to photograph a weeping willow on the edge of the lake. A lovely clear sunny spring morning…just magic. Tonight it is raining and the weather is expected to become very cold….. So goodnight all…. And don’t forget to put your clocks forward before you go to bed……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.