My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Platycodon:- A Kaleidescope.....

..........also known as Balloon Flower or Japanese/Chinese Bell Flower.

Varieties differ in flower colour and plant size. The Fuji series, the most widely sold, is also the tallest, producing blue, pink, or white blooms on 30-inch-long stems. Because of its height, Fuji always benefits from support, as do 24-inch-tall 'Double Blue', 'Pink Pearl', and 'Shell Pink'. Because plants grow from numerous basal stems that rise directly from the roots, heavy-gauge grow-through supports or support rings are ideal though I have never needed them.

This one finished - or so I thought - about 8 weeks ago so I cut it right back. Over the last fortnight, it has regrown and is now producing it's second flush of blooms.

It seems to be a funny year - I have coloured primroses out and a few flowers on my Weigela - we shall be having Lavender in flower at Christmas at this rate!!

A pleasant morning - Temperature at 61 Deg.F. - sun peeping through and a light wind.

Have a lovely weekend.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.