Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

New shoes on

Ode to Paolo Nutini for our Scottish friends back home.

Not such a simple pair. Reuben now wears orthotics (an insert inside his shoes) and has amazingly conquered the ability to walk from 17 months despite a may never walk diagnosis due to low muscle tone, torticollis, mod-severe deafness, vision impairment (with cute glasses), no natural balance due to vestibular dysfunction and well, 6 months down time in intensive care!

But there you go, my walking, talking, happy, happy, happy boy helping to lace up his new shoes.

Now that deserves 5 stars for Reuben I'd say!!! (cheeky...)

Update: so here's a peek at the 3hr shoot... the pics are still uploading, but it's getting there! Learnt a lot for sure, like:

1. Thou must format disk to clean "digital dust" otherwise your 8GB will run out after 100 shots.
2. The 50mm can be lovely, but needs patience, practice and a back up plan (like my Big Fella that came along).
3. Importance of white balance. Sure you can edit afterwards, but I don't like to as it never looks the same. Try to get it right 1st time (Note: borrowed my husband's work's Canon Powershot the other day and was amazed it came with WB too!)

Martin shoot

Please you know I'm desperate for some feedback. Remember though I haven't edited them as we'll work together on his portfolio shots and refine the ones we want to use otherwise with about 1,500 shots under my belt today, I'll be here til Kingdom Cometh! I've done travel photography all my life, then 3yrs of babies and kids and this is a totally new thing. You can tell the lens change of course by the f1.8 rearing it's lovely head and then the f4.5.

PS Sorry girls he's very happily married to my fellow Brit mate over here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.