Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Actor headshots

Martin

Click for the slideshow on my website I've been building over the last 2 months.

Throughout the many years I've loved photography, I've learnt that the best photographic portraiture comes not just from the skill and creative talent of the photography, but from the collaboration of the subject themselves. The interplay between, intimacy of the experience, will yield the best results.

So yesterday I did my 1st actor headshots. What a pleasure to photograph someone who's so professional, had not only a selection of great looks ready, but had meticulously planned where each outfit would best work with backgrounds around his home and garden. He'd even planned a shave in between (that's what my sister said: Where's the beard?). I shot entirely in natural light bar 1 test photo in flash and I paid a lot of attention to WB and the technicalities. Had been given some great advice from Blipland about engaging with the actor, who happens to be a friend's husband, finding out more about him and that really opened him up. It's amazing how an experienced actor can change expressions at a whim, can flip between laughter and thoughtfulness. We drove out to Old Pasadena to capture City Hall as the backdrop for the business/Obama type shots that I wanted to get. I can't help but think that Martin has traits of Connery, Clooney and Crowe in there. Loved the 50mm f1.8 but also relied on my Big Fella lens too.

I shot about 1000 pics but made the huge error of not reformatting one of my available disks beforehand so my 8GB had "data dust" and would reap little. What do you think? These are unedited as I'll work on the ones we decide to use for his updated, I'm-a-daddy-not-a-single-young-actor-now portfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.