Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Up early to the Lammermuirs where I got stuck in the snow. I hadn't expected quite so much given that we had only had a light dusting at the cottage. I managed to drive half way up a steep road before sliding backwards down again, wheels spinning uselessly. A very kind man in a tractor helped to turn the car homewards and back I drove. I did stop and have a wander in the birch woods near home where it was utterly magical and oh so quiet. I returned to an empty cottage (Nick off to Glentress for a cycle and Sam shivering somewhere near Dunbar in his tent) and enjoyed the saturday papers with a pot of tea, poached egg and some toast. It felt very civilised and very unlike the usual saturday table topped with cereal packets, empty bowls, spilt milk and the familiar crunch of flakes under foot.....



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.