John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Metro Exit--Paris

For a while I've been photographing the scene as I come out of Paris's metro stations (it's a superb system). I now realize that escalators--as here--can work better than stairs; the composition is automatically tighter, and there's lots of metal to reflect--Voila!

This was the Jussieu Metro station (5th arrondissement), mid-afternoon, with the sun partly behind a cloud just to the left above--thus the difference in lighting between left and right. Slightly cropped (rotated a tiny bit), and mildly processed in Photoshop.

We were on our way to the Maison des Oiseaux (House of Birds)--a center of bird-watching in central Paris. We did see some good birds, but I didn't have my long lens--and anyway this beats almost anything else I could have captured. More on birds in the future--after all, it's my main thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.