Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Maple Syrup

Today, we drove by a field and noticed a group of people huddled around. Upon closer inspection, I realized that people flying remote control. I thought that the little TMGs would like to watch and so I soon returned with the little ones. Unfortunately, their interest was limited, but I saw another group of people and who were there to learn about making maple syrup.

The leader had a drill and would drill a hole in tree, then hammer in a tap and finally hang a bucket under the tap to capture the sap. The little TMGs and I were very intrigued with the process although I have to say that the power drill was the biggest draw for our youngest! The cool thing is that sap would come pouring out immediately and the little TMGs were able to sample it. It was marginally sweet, but they enjoyed it tremendously.

In this shot, you see a tap with sap dripping out. I have more pictures from this outing that I plan on posting to Flickr tomorrow and so visit again to see them.

A year ago: An old fashioned liquor store

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.