LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Multiplicity

Eventually made it to the darkrooms today, it has been ages since I was last there and the last couple of visits have been less than pleasing. This time however I was well prepared (I have bought what I believe to be a teenager's Ripcurl schoolbag which is a handy size for folders and such) and everything I could possibly need was with me. I made 5 prints of a picture from my Sister's wedding (back in June!) as everyone has been asking about the picture they have on their mantlepiece which wasn't included on the CD from the official photographer. Whilst I am pleased at the interest in my picture I haven't the heart to tell them how much effort it takes to make each one. They are printed on Adox Nuance fibre based paper which takes a good 5 minutes to develop the finer detail in the highlights, requires a developer like D-72 at 1:3 dilution and it goes through the developer like nobody's business, 10 or so 8x10 prints rather than the more normal 30 or 40 from a litre. Further complications include me only being able to handle one print through the trays at a time, rather than the 5 resin coated prints I can do at once. They take 2 fixing baths and at least an hour to rinse and 24 hours to dry before being taken up to Stills to be flattened in the dry-mount press.

Going back tomorrow to do copies of the family shot...

Still Jen got a chinese when I came home, all kinds of chilli joy and earlier in the day Newcastle beat PNE 3-0 (so I'm guessing Scobees didn't have to good a day at St. James' park) so it was a good day all in all.

Music:
Motley Crue - Too Fast for Love
Alestorm - Captain Morgan's Revenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.