todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Beacon...

You know that feeling you get when you challenge yourself and you struggle and you keep going, because the thing that's just out of your grasp - your beacon - calls you to struggle on?

And then you get there. And your beacon, having been your shining light, drawing you like a magnet, looks and feels even more wonderful than you thought it would?

I felt that feeling today. The beacon in question is the
Faro de la Entallada lighthouse on Fuerteventura. It's the closest spot on the Canary Islands to Africa and sits atop a 1 in 8 climb of around 300 metres. To us uninitiated cyclists, that's very steep and long enough to hurt.

It was worth all the effort - the lighthouse is beautiful and the view is breathtaking.

Today's challenge made me feel like the me I'm most comfortable with. I understand physical challenge. The endeavour is never easy but it's honest and the rewards are always there at the end. Not so with emotional challenge. The endeavour feels just as hard but the rewards aren't guaranteed.

But I'm learning to be another me. A me who is working out that sometimes not having the answer is actually the answer.

And being drawn to the beacon may still be worth the effort.

I think I'll add beacon to my list of favourite words. I like what it represents.

Today outof10? An illuminated 9.7 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.