Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Last Shot

Not forever. Just for the day.

I had already taken the card out of the camera and put the back up in (that's what I do, just in case I need to take a quick pic while I'm working with the good one) and was set to blip a shot of a feeder with no bird in it at all. It was that bad of a day.

But I thought I would go back and give it just ten more minutes. I squatted the tripod down almost as low as it would go so that I could get at least a little blue sky in the background.

I was rewarded with a halfway decent shot of a Rufous hummingbird. I think this might be the first one I've caught all summer. She must be migrating, coming down from the mountains, likely from the area around Madera Canyon, and heading south for the winter.

I am going to try to get up to Madera Canyon tomorrow afternoon before all the Snowbirds are back for the winter and all the hummingbirds are gone for the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.