The big seven-oh

I awoke early, probably in sympathy with D who was having to get up to catch a very early train from Edinburgh. I went along to the briefing in the morning but having delivered my presentation had to leave immediately (thereby avoiding having to field the inevitable awkward questions). :-)

I drove to Wolverhampton and found the station without too much difficulty - and there was DaveH, who'd been amusing himself amongst the Wolves for a couple of hours. Hurray!

Then we drove on westwards, chosing mostly small lanes through very lovely countryside (almost passing through a village called Badger which appealed to me greatly) and finally arriving at our destination in good time to shower and change before heading for the village hall.

It was about thirty-five years since I'd seen the birthday boy in person, but I had no trouble recognising him. His wife had secretly arranged for lots of friends from his past lives to be at the party, which he coped with amazingly well. There was much splendid food and drink and music (apart from the stone-deaf tenor banjo player).

Driving for most of the day and partying all evening, I find I neglected to take any other photos apart from this very two dimensional Erinaceus europaeus that I noticed as we walked up the lane from the pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.