Saltire

We slept reasonably like unto a pair of logs and enjoyed an excellent breakfast at the Plume of Feathers. We then went up to D & S's house to have coffee and birthday cake and some more extended conversation than was possible last night. It was a beautiful day and as we sat in their garden talking I noticed a massive saltire in the sky. Lots of people in Englandshire have been asking me about the referendum in the last week, taking an intelligent interest and wanting to discuss it - normal people, that is. I've noticed that at the various political party conferences that are going on there doesn't seem to have been any mention of it. They may try to ignore it, but I don't think it's going to go away!

After saying our goodbyes we headed north - we made the ritual visit to the farm shop at Tebay services and then I headed off the motorway at Moffat and we came back via the Grey Mare's Tail and over the hill from Innerleithen for an eyeful of the Forth valley. What a sight for my poor sore eyes!

There was a good selection of post waiting for me - a cheque from the Inland Revenue refunding me some tax, about £80 worth of train vouchers (resulting from abandoned train journey a few weeks back) and the new seed catalogue from Kings. Hurray!

Bath. Bed. 'night, blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.