Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

John Betjeman, St Pancras.

We spent most of today at the V&A and saw the Wedding Dresses Exhibition and the Horst Photography Exhibition. Both were excellent. There's so much to see there that I think you'd need several days and a sturdier constitution than mine to get round it all! We were happy to limit ourselves to these two today and take our time - punctuated by coffee breaks and quite a lot of time gazing at the gift shop. I do appreciate a good gift shop. It was gorgeously sunny outside and so lovely to sit in the gardens and people watch too.

We came back through St Pancras and stopped for some very tasty Italian food and a bottle of red, then made our way back to the hotel with plenty of time to get ready and head back out to see Phantom. I'd bought the tickets awhile ago and was most excited to see it. I can't explain how much I love Phantom of the Opera, my parents are big Musical Theatre fans and my siblings and I grew up listening to a huge variety of them on every car journey - it's worrying how many of the lyrics we can all still sing - Phantom was a big favourite but I've only seen it once and that was about 25 years ago so I was very much looking forward to seeing it again.

However.
It turned out I'd only gone and bought tickets for the matinee showing instead of - I was certain - the 7.30 showing.
Which was most upsetting to discover at 6.20pm.
Yeah...
Gutted.

Maggie was very good about it, especially considering I'd just wasted £110 we really couldn't afford! Probably thought that I was upset enough about it for both of us and decided just to store it away to abuse me with at a later date...
We still wanted to see something though so we pulled ourselves together and rushed down to the half price ticket booth at Leicester Sq, credit cards at the ready, and somewhat miraculously managed to get really good seats for Miss Saigon. It was brilliant, totally loved it! I know the music but I've never seen it before and it was excellent. Particularly,according to Maggie, the helicopter bit. "Best. Bit. Ever." (apparently)
;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.