The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Face In The Undergrowth

It's funny how when I do the point and shoot type shots of the birds in the garden I quite often get a surprise.

I've been doing all the usual end of month stuff today for our clients. It's always a busy time from about the 23rd onwards with payrolls and invoicing and what not.

So after being tied to the monitor and paperwork for six hours I popped downstairs to make a coffee and point the camera out the patio doors. There is always a Sparrow to fall back on for a birdy blip .. or a Collared Dove. I noticed this little grey face sticking out from the weedy undergrowth by the feeder, and realised to my delight I have a Dunnock back in the garden again! Poor old Dunnocks are having a tough time of it with their numbers falling at the moment, and I haven't seen one in my garden for months, if not at all this year.

The talk went really well last night ... I over ran by half an hour .. oops! But everyone seem to enjoy it .. and I pretty much do it without referring to my script now! If I stick some of the facts and figures up on the slides I could probably do away with my notes altogether and replace them with some prompt cards. If I am going to overrun by this much I may need to drop a couple of the birds too.

I did the talk in the High Corner House, in Llanharan. We had a very nice meal, and will definitely be going back there too eat!

Maybe having escape from the office day tomorrow .. watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.