LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Oktoberfest Germany


I wish I could write all about Oktoberfest, but I honestly don’t remember a lot. It’s a weekend you’ll never forget but you won’t remember.

I remember waking up & feeling a little tipsy still so I had a shower to try wake myself up but you get a token for 1.50 euros allowing you to have only 7 minutes of hot water & in that time all I managed to do was brush my teeth whilst trying to stay standing upright. So I had to wash the shampoo & body wash off in freezing cold water, although that did help to wake me up.

We put on our laderhosen & garter & jumped on the bus to Oktoberfest at 9am, with Nathan’s sister, Courtney & her friends who were over for the weekend from London. All I wanted to do was sleep so when I was handed my first beer I sipped very slowly not sure if I should scull it to beat the hangover or pace myself, but the thought of sculling turned my stomach so I sat there nursing my first two steins feeling sorry for myself.

Our waitress brought over 10 steins at once, with her wrists strapped & muscles popping out of her arms like popeye, we were all very impressed! Bringing one stein to your mouth with a litre of beer & two hands is heavy enough, let alone 10 times that in one hand! Every time a round came to the table we all lifted up ours beer & shouted ‘Proust!,’ but if you don’t make eye contact with the person your clinking glasses with you’ll have 7 years of bad sex... according to our tour guide! (According to another tour guide, you’ll have a retarded baby)
We played musical chairs all day so we all got to know each other along with a few people from the group sitting at other tables. Beer & chicken was flowing all day long, we got told that if you get to drunk & rowdy the waitresses will start bringing you non alcoholic beer so your still spending your money - smart move.
There was a brass band playing on & off most of the afternoon so we all got up on the wooden chairs singing & dancing along with the music. Every body was snap happy so many horrible photos were taken. Although no one remembers a lot, the photos speak for themselves.

Many people were standing up on the tables trying to scull a stein. Only the brave do so, if you can’t finish it you get booed by the thousands of people watching in the hall. One man stood up 3 times & finished all 3 steins! I don’t know how he was standing by the end of the day. Another chick was walking around drinking straight yagermister from the bottle - the smell of that alone, makes me want to vomit!

We drunk from around 9.30 in the morning to 6 in the evening, thankfully Courtney was smart enough to order a few steins of water throughout the day which we shared hoping to rehydrate & easing the hangover for the next day.

We went home around 6 as my hip was causing me some pain, had some pizza & passed out.

I woke up the next day with tonsillitis & a head cold so instead of doing a group tour to a German castle Nathan & I stayed in bed in a boiling tent all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.