LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Munich to Phuket!


We left the campsite at 10am followed by an hour bus ride & an hour train ride to get to the airport. We got in at midday but our flight didn’t leave until 10pm, so we sat on the floor in the airport watching movies & eating maccas. When we finally got on the flight we were exhausted, 10 hours later we arrived in Bangkok. 2 hour stop over, another 2 hour flight then a 2 hour taxi ride until we were finally in Phuket & at our hotel.

We were to drain & exhausted to be excited, but as with any new place we go to were a bit uneasy the first night until we settle. We ordered Thai to our room & fell asleep pretty quickly, although I was up a few hours later struggling to breath, my cold had hit my chest & gotten worse.

I slept most of our first full day in Phuket, exhausted & fed up of being sick. We did manage to leave the hotel around 3, only for the room service lady to clean. So we got the hotels taxi into Phuket's biggest shopping centre - Aka my new playground!
The ride there was sweaty & bumpy, we passed many tuk tuk’s which have been pimped out since I last saw one. Big sub woofers & speakers blasting as they drive around, big wheels & bright flashy paint jobs. I remember them being a lot more old school.
The shopping centre was huge & by our calculations not so cheap. Well, it was about half of the price in Australia but we were expecting something different.
We wandered around & decided to eat at an Irish pub (As you do in Phuket)... I think we were missing Ireland a bit! We shared a meal & it was still enough to fill us both up.

We wandered down the streets for some cheaper deals & almost immediately I was throwing money at everyone. We brought four pairs of hippy pants, board shorts, bikini’s, statues etc. I now have a list of things I need to go back & get. It was very exciting! Poor Nathan’s going to have fun carrying all this extra luggage home, hehe.

Three hours later we were back on the jiggly taxi bus. We dropped our shopping to the hotel room & Nathan got changed into his Bob Marley bikini whilst I got changed into my Bob Marley boardies... Or maybe it was the other way around? We head to the beach for a little night stroll, crabs were running around everywhere so fast like they were on speed! We could hear a man playing guitar at the hotel whilst we walked through the warm beach water & looking at the moon reflect off the ocean. It was perfect.

We had dinner about two meters from the beach, we went half-half in a cheese burger (As you do in Phuket) & a chicken cashew dish.

Now we lay here in bed, still boiling hot, I’m struggling to breath with my chest infection & Nathan’s reading his book. I’m trying to stop myself from eating all the English chocolate we’ve packed to take back to Oz. What a lovely start to our honey moon part of the holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.