Pinkie Out, There's A Beetle About

It has been a beautiful day but I have spent it grappling with Essex County Council waste department. I want to dispose correctly and safely of some ancient, quite toxic, chemicals that we have found at The Homestead. I'm prepared to pay. They're not making it easy for me. :(

Very little time for togging. There's a container that collects rainwater that I always look inside. I've rescued insects that have gone for an unscheduled swim in it before. This evening a beetle was motionless in the middle. I was sure that it was dead but hoiked it out anyway. I cleaned and dried it with my jumper and suddenly it started to struggle. Once on my skin it gripped me for grim death. It felt like it was nibbling at me but maybe it was just the sensation of its claws?

I think it is from the Chrysomelidae, the leaf and flea beetle family. Lovely lucky little thing. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.