Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Tredegar House & Gardens

I was up early to do a sandwich and salad box for 'the ball and chain' who was having her hair done before going straight into work for a 1pm start. I was left instructions to put the washing out - I didn't see much point as it was raining. It was still damp this evening, so it's now on the radiators, drying. I expect that'll be wrong when she gets in at 10.15pm.

I've not done a lot except to catch up on paperwork, post a few things on E Bay (don't get me started on their charges), and then decided to pop out and take a photo. My mate Tom and his wife, who live in a caravan, mostly at Tredegar Park, are off for a week on Sunday, so I took the opportunity to pop in and see them. It's a great life style and it's kept them married. Tom originally bought the caravan as they sold the house as they were getting divorced. Gaynor moved in whilst she was looking for a flat to rent - and has stayed ever since!

Whilst there I took the opportunity to show Tom my drone as the large grounds are ideal. The blip photo shows Tredegar House main entrance and the surrounding gardens.

I've given a more detailed history of Tredegar House before but, briefly, it's a 17th-century Charles II country house mansion in the city of Newport that for over five hundred years was home to the Morgan family, later Lords Tredegar; Described as "The grandest and most exuberant country house" in Monmouthshire and one of the "outstanding houses of the Restoration period in the whole of Britain". The mansion stands in the 90 acres. It became a Grade I listed building on 3 March 1952.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.