Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Bridge

Stopped at Clifton Hampden on my way home from Oxford this afternoon to take some pictures. The light was all wrong for the shot I had in mind, overcast and diffuse whereas I wanted strong clear light to create reflections under the arches, so I opted for this one.

Finding it very tough but then I've already whinged enough about that. One potentially good thing that came up today was a suggestion from the main physiotherapist that I'm definitely going to follow up; one of the biggest "losses" emotionally that I've suffered since becoming disabled has been the end of my ability to walk cross country, in my distant youth hill walking and long distance walking in places like the Highlands was always one of my great joys, the more remote the better, over the last few years before my accident I never seemed to have any time to do it, it was endlessly deferred as life got in the way but there was always the knowledge that there would be time for it again at some stage...until suddenly there wasn't, over the last couple of years even the short, unwild dog walks I was still able to do have become beyond me, knowing this the physio researched a cross country walker for me that might well enable me (if the current course succeeds in improving my fitness and endurance levels) to at least venture forth field walking and on some of the less challenging wilder paths. My range would be limited, progress slow and punctuated by rest stops but it would indeed be something. The only problem is it isn't cheap, they're made in Sweden and they are not available on the NHS. The cost is way beyond my means but I do have an idea - I haven't asked the benevolent society from my old profession for anything in about 15 or 16 years and this is just the sort of thing they exist for. I shall have to make a case for it and nothing is guaranteed, it's a charity and like everything else these days they'll be feeling the squeeze but there is a chance they may fund it for me. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.