Moments

By togrrrl

A day of contrasts

Subtitle: A fine day for a funeral.

It was a gorgeous sunny springlike day. And the day of my great aunt's funeral.

I didn't know her very well - she was one of the older generation. All I knew was her amazing hair, amazing house, her poise and elegance.

Today's funeral was a study in contrasts.

The genuine emotion and grieving by her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. The not so enthusiastic remembrances by some.

The warm day, full of the promise of spring. Babies. The ending of a long life.

The minor irritations of a family gathering and the warmth of belonging and the connection I'll always have with them.

The funeral started with this poem that I will have to think about.

To laugh often and much;
To win the respect of intelligent people
and the affection of children;
To earn the appreciation of honest critics
and endure the betrayal of false friends;
To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others;
To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child,
a garden patch or a redeemed social condition;
To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived.
This is to have succeeded.

PS I'm terribly behind on comments. I will catch up soon, I will.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.