Purple Water Lily

We've had some tremendously foggy mornings lately. The day started out overcast and gray. A dense fog lingered past lunchtime, and only gave way to breaking sunshine and clearing skies in the early afternoon.

I had an afternoon meeting at the Libraries, and I parked by the law school building and walked through the Arboretum grounds toward campus, just as the first light broke through the clouds.

The light lit up the lily pond and all of its beautiful flowers which are lingering into the fall: cream, pink, yellow, blue/purple. The surface was smooth as glass. And I found the purple water lily especially arresting, backlit by the light and reflected darkly on its waters.

For some reason, purple makes me think of raspberries. Dang it, now I've gone and made myself hungry for raspberry ice cream. In lieu of that, here's a tasty song link: Prince, with Raspberry Beret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.