Breaking Light

"Here's to you my little loves with blessings from above
Now let the day begin
Here's to you my little loves with blessings from above
Now let the day begin, let the day start"

The Call, Let The Day Begin

The sight of the sunrise always fills me with hope. Darkness fades. The golden light returns. It's a chance to start anew. Yesterday was what it was; it is over now. The night is done. Let the day begin.

I am very fortunate that my morning drive to work takes me on a pathway into the sun. So many mornings, I am driving along, watching the scenery too, but mostly I am watching the sky.

So it was on this morning. There were some large, dark clouds, but the sun was trying to make its way through. I was rooting it on, and looking for a place to pull over if the sun should break through.

And then it did. And it was all dramatic, with little beams coming out, like rays of glory. I was at a good place: a little pond I know not far from where I live. It is very small - you'd laugh if you saw how small - but the water provides a perfect reflective surface for the sky. And I stopped just as the light came breaking through the clouds.

And I stood in wonder. I stood in glory. And I was thankful - as I always am - for this great, big beautiful world. But especially for morning, and that blessed, special moment when the light breaks through for the first time, and you can almost hear the angels sing.

The soundtrack for this image is a late 80s tune by a band named The Call, with a rocking tune called Let the Day Begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.