stuartjross

By stuartjross

Bob

First, huge thanks for everyone’s kind words and encouragement for our evening walk photo on Bohuntin Hill. It really is one of the best view points in Lochaber and Caley loves it. You could spend a lifetime walking in Glen Roy and not get bored.

Today was an office affair with nothing to process. I did all the outstanding processing yesterday.
Despite my best attempts to program projects to dovetail together in sequence I am unable to start the next site job until tomorrow as that is the first day that the client’s representative is available to explain on the ground what is required. The brief in this situation is beyond definition by email alone.

I have been spending some hours today trying to pull some images together for our works calendar. It is incredibly time consuming and you end up selecting an image then messing about to get rid of a dust speck, may be tweaking the sky, then going for something else instead after all that. The software that comes with my Sigma compact to treat raw images is famously slow (there is no Adobe alternative either) and the slow software aspect alone is enough to turn many critics away from what, I think, is a cracking wee camera.
Anyway, I think I have 12 now but I need Mrs SJR’s opinion too before talking to the printer.
Infuriatingly my good Nikon (I have more than one and they are all good) seems to have developed a focus fault. In single focus mode (not live view where contrast focus still works okay) you can move the selector about to select one of 51 focus sensors in the VF. Only the bottom row will lock on focus and all the rest hunt back and forth and refuse to lock. The lens will work fine on the other body but all the lenses do the same thing on the 800. The fault is definitely on the body. All I can check is that the contacts are clean. Obviously I will be delighted with any advice or pointers. I can’t find anything on google apart from a well-documented soft focus issue with this body on the frame left hand side. For much of what I use this camera for I could probably get comfortable with manual focus again. That’s all we ever had back in the good old days.
I had a quick walk with the girls and Bob and Caley first thing. This is the eternally happy and energetic Bob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.