The Wall

Sorø Monastery Church is one of the largest medieval churches in Denmark. It was founded in 1161 and is one of the first brick buildings in the country. The church was part of a big Cistercian monastery, that was established on the initiative of the powerful Bishop Absalon and supported by him and other members of the wealthy Hvide family. After the Reformation in 1536, the monastery was used for other purposes until it burned down in 1813. It was re-built as the Academy that I wrote about a couple of days ago. This bit of wall, a gatehouse and a well known as the Frater Well are the only of the original monastery buildings that survieved the fire. This bit of wall has been around since 1161... Amazing thought, isn't it?!

It has been a funny kind of day...

It was my last day at work before my holiday! Finally holiday! I do now have 2½ week off from work! Phew!

After work, I had some errands... A while ago, I ordered a couple of things online to collect in a local shop. I heard nothing, so last week, I contacted the company and asked about delivery. One of the items had been delivered to the shop a while ago - they have not been able to find it, when I have asked for it! The other item had disappeard, so they promised to deliver a new one for me to collect later.

So on Wednesday afternoon, I went to the shop to collect the item, which I knew had been there for a while waiting for me. The lady in the shop said they didn't have it, even though I showed her the email from the company saying that they had checked with the shop and they had it. So I got grumpy and they promised to look for it and ring me.

Today I went back to the shop - and yes, they had found it! So I finally got to collect it. After I had left, a young girl from the shop came running after me and gave me a cake FOC to apologize. At first I thought it was strange, but I suppose it was a nice gesture.

Next stop was our training field, where I had a good training session with all 3 dogs.

We finished with a walk in the Academy Garden.

See you tomorrow.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.