SilverImages

By SilverImages

Cragside

"However high we climb in the pursuit of knowledge we shall still see heights above us, and the more we extend our view, the more conscious we shall be of the immensity which lies beyond. "
Sir William George Armstrong


The plan for the day was a half day trip to Chilligham castle and return in time to get back on the island before the afternoon tide cuts it off.  I have no internet so haven't been able to check opening times - no surprises then that when I arrive I find the castle doesn't open until 12.

A quick change of plan with the aid of a National Trust map I picked up along the way; there are plenty of places to visit within relatively easy reach.  But if I decide to come back to visit Chillingham I'll have to wait until 8.30pm for the safe crossing back onto the island.

I plump for Cragside, the home of Lord Armstrong.  It's about 20 miles away.  The landscape around here is stunning, but I have to keep my eyes on the road so photo opportunities are limited.  As I roll up to the entrance "gate" the attendant notices my shift lens on the passenger seat and that's it, all the other cars behind get diverted while we have a tete a tete about the camera and lens.  Get plenty of good tips for viewpoints, times to visit and optional 6 mile drive/walk through the 40 miles of paths on the estate.  The friendly welcome is strengthened by shuttle bus driver M, who is equally forthcoming with suggestions.

The place is quite stunning, set against the crag.  Typical Victorian pile I suppose, but I could get used to it.  The setting with the burn running through the steeply sided valleys adds drama to the sylvan landscape.  Even the formal gardens have plenty of colour and interest, not only for me but the myriad bees and Red Admiral butterflies flocking to the nectar.  It's another sunny, warm day again - I could get used to Northumbria.

A couple of hours wandering the grounds sees me until 1pm, when the house opens.  My original intention was to head off but while I'm here...  The house is quite lavish, but then the Victorians were keen to impress, and none more so than when royalty comes calling.  The Owl Suite at the top of the house was where the Prince of Wales, later Edward VII and family stayed during their visit here in 1884.  Stunning view down to the iron bridge across the gorge with the 120 year old redwoods lining the sides.    Met a fellow Canon enthusiast who was keen to compare notes...

Next stop Chillingham Castle, which was highly recommended by a few people.  Quite deflated on first impressions, and didn't really improve as I wandered through.  Nearing the end of the tour through the rooms I came to the cafe area, where some other visitors were grumping that they'd travelled all this way to see the place and the cafe was closed, it was only about 4pm and the advertised opening hours were 12-5pm.  When I left at 4.30 the doors and shutters were being closed, and I wasn't the last to leave.
   
I headed up over Corby Crags to get the afternoon sun on the hills, then through Alnwick to pick up the main road north to Berwick, to fill up with petrol for the trek back home next week.  No plans for any long trips over the weekend, time to get to know the island.

A few cars waiting at the causeway for the safe crossing time.  I saw a few vehicles get through early but it was night and I wasn't too confident as I'd only travelled the road once before.  Nevertheless I started about 15 minutes before the "safe crossing" time - road still covered in places so I think I'll trust to the safe crossing times in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.