SilverImages

By SilverImages

Castles in the sky

“If you have built castles in the sky
Let not your dreams go to waste;
Just build the foundations under them."

Henry David Thoreau

First full day on the island.  When I wake I can hear the rain on the roof, so I don't rush to get up and out.  By about 9am it's settling down to a cloudy bright day and I've had breakfast, so I wander around to get my bearings in the village.  Not exactly a lot to find out about  so I've soon seen what I need to nearby.  

Decide to visit the castle today - surprised how many people there are coming up the road into the village.  I follow the trudging pilgrims, past the ice cream van towards Lutyens designed Castle on a hill for Edward Hudson, founder of Country Life magazine.

A good introduction to the island, and with the clear skies there are plenty of photo opportunities.  The staff are keen to talk and give all the usual stuff about the place, but also some suggestions for other places to visit in the area.  Also told me there was a display of the Northern Lights last week, and the best place to view them  is up in the foothills of the Cheviots.  And on the way there is Chillingham Castle .

Found the village store on the way back so grabbed a crab sandwich for lunch and headed back to the cottage.  A short Meditation, then off to explore some more.  Visited the remains of the Old Priory, and the nearby museum and exhibition.  Met a kindred spirit who also keeps a dream diary.  Enough for one day, back to the cottage to plan tomorrows trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.