Sticky

Why is it that whenever I make jam or marmalade, everywhere seems to get sticky? The work tops get sticky, the oven glove gets sticky, the dishcloth gets sticky and even the floor seems to have the odd sticky spot!
This batch of jam has not been without its difficulties, and I shall be glad when it is in its place on the top shelf of the larder. Our last weekend's guests brought some pears from their garden, far too many to eat. I wanted to freeze pies, but it was decided we would make jam. We found a recipe for pears and dried apricots. The apricots had to be soaked and by the time the allotted soaking was done Normous had gone off to golf. So it was down to me to make the jam. I followed the recipe carefully - maybe that was my mistake, because the resulting mixture was very lumpy and it wouldn't set. That was yesterday. I was left with sticky worktops etc, and a horrible runny mixture fit only for the bin. Not to be defeated, this morning I emptied all the jars back into the preserving pan again and cut up the lumps of apricot (the recipe said leave them whole!) and then boiled it all up again. Now, fingers crossed, it is edible. It looks good! But once again everywhere is sticky!

Sorry to off load all that, but it was a very frustrating episode which I have now got out of my system. Pies would have been easier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.