Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Reflection Back

The wife hasn't been well, and has mostly been in bed, dozing and being brought copious cups of tea by nurse Bob. She's hoping to get a doctors appointment tomorrow but sometimes it's easier to win on the lottery.

On Friday night I was watching my team, Cardiff City play Blackpool away, on Sky TV, when the living room door opened. She who must be obeyed ordered me upstairs. I thought my luck was in. On following her upstairs she told me to look at the tv and said, "Do you recognise him?"

It turned out it was my long time friend and running partner, the rebel Conservative backbench MP, Peter Bone, on the tv comedy programme 'Have I got news for you'. Peter always wanted to become an MP and moved to Newport as the party put him up against Neil Kinnock in the Islwyn constituency. He was on to a loser as you could put a red rosette on a donkey, in most places in Wales, and it'd be voted in. Eventually, Peter and his wife, Jenny, moved to Pudsey in 1997, and in 2005 eventually realised his ambition and became the MP for Wellingborough.

His wikipedia profile is here for those interested; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Bone

He's been dubbed Britains meanest boss but I think he revels in that. I lived with Pete and his wife for a few months, and found them very generous. We entered many half marathons and the London Marathon a few times. We've lost touch since he moved. I'll have to contact him.

Well, my team lost on Friday night; that was a downer. But, at least it was nice reflecting back on times, seeing an old mate become well known and on tv.

Todays blip is another reflection in the window of WH Smith, Caerphilly showing the Castle and leaning tower, together with the main street. It's nice to reflect back on things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.