If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Sunday 5 October 2014: Sailing at Ullswater.

After a "senior moment" on Saturday I left some of the laundry at the Lodge, so I decided I would pop out and pick it up. Having got the laundry I decided to go home by the Lake. My first intention was to get a shot of the lake from an angle I haven't done before. However there was no room to park so I decided to go along what we call the "back side" of the lake towards Martindale.

As I was going along I noticed boats were out sailing. So I stopped in a lay-by at Sharrow bay. Then I gave myself a lesson in how not to be a photographer. I am still getting used to the Pentax, the Lumix had built in memory and took a few shots without a card and clearly told you across each shot that they were being recorded on the built in memory. So after parking down on to the shoreline and there area couple of fast moving boats with colourful spinnakers quite close. Wonderful!

So there I am taking shot after shot and when I glance at the screen I see an almost subliminal message saying there is no card in the camera. By the time I had dug a card out of my camera the spinnakers had rounded the point and the only boats were further away and sailing into the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.