nina54

By nina

A Day of Surprises

We woke up this morning in a snow storm. After breakfast we decided to drive to the coast guards' station and ask them for permission to climb their stairs up on the cliff.

As we arrived to the station we knocked on the door and opened it. This is the habit at Kökar. You don't need to wait until someone comes to the door and opens it. We stepped in and met a couple of these guys.

We chatted for a while and then I asked if we could go down to the harbor to have a look at their boat, before they'd leave for their daily mission to break the ice in the fairway. We got the permission for both the harbor and the steps.

As we got down to the harbor and I took some photos there Timo spotted sea eagles flying over the cliff. I immediately jumped in the snow pile and started making my way to the ice. Also Timo had gone there, but at that moment I was completely mesmerized by the eagles circling high up in the sky.

As I came closer I spotted a couple of foxes, too. All these animals were fighting for the same food. There were many dead swans on the ice, they had not survived this harsh and extremely cold winter.

I managed to get some photos, but they were not as good as I'd hoped for (I cannot compete with EzHighway). Instead Timo made a video movie on this, so check it out, please!

In this photo Timo is walking towards the cape where he saw the foxes go. You can also see the amount of ice on the cliffs and a very pale sun revealing itself through the grey sky.

Please look also at the large version of this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.