weewilkie

By weewilkie

autumn arrives boasting brilliant branches

Love the colours of this tree. Autumn arrives boasting brilliant branches. The vivid yellow against bark of red really reminds me of Spain.
My daughter is there at the moment so this makes me think of her and my sister's family that she's staying with.
In Alicante province the nights were cold in autumn. The tiled floors were like ice rinks to step on. The open plan rooms were difficult to heat, so it was hard to get comfortable. The best thing was the open fire that became a nightly treat. Lemon wood, olive or almond. Warming a cosy corner and a wood barbecue to cook dinner.
I gladly stared into the flames for hours. Lost in the dancing fire, wood popping or hissing sap now and again. In an old rocking chair having a rare old time to myself . I can conjure it now. This vivid picture of autumn in Spain with the family all around. Autumn on fire, red and yellow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.