Hands Up......

…all those who remember Meccano; not the new-fangled ‘cool’ stuff, the 1950’s original kits where everyone’s ambition was to own the wooden chest containing Set No.10?

I found these manuals tucked away in the corner of the shop this afternoon, instructions for the 1a, 3a and 4a accessory outfits. Flicking through these brought back so many memories of my childhood (a long, long, long time ago) when building Meccano was one of my favourite pastimes. I loved the individual bits and components, I remember going to the toy shop at the end of the avenue to buy single pieces from the catalogue when I was one or two pieces short. And every Christmas hoping for the next set up, but never reaching the dizzy heights of set no.10.

A quick search on t’net and I found a 1950’s set number 10 complete with its wooden case for £1850 – so still as unaffordable as it has always been!


Worth a closer look

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.