In Tandem

The few rays of sunshine peeking through the trees and pouring onto the water had brought out the dragons. Peering through the hide window onto a small pond with no-one around I thought I'd go and sit on the bank and join them.

They were chasing and flitting speedily then coming down to lay eggs in the shallow water and vegetation. Lovely to see when the sun caught the wings but it nearly ended in tears for two of them. The paired couples were being harassed by marauding single males trying to butt in and unfortunately with this distraction they ended up in the water. They floundered around but as soon as their wings went under it was going to end badly...and I'm not in wellies...but you know what's coming don't you?! I just couldn't sit there and carry on taking shots watching them struggle.

Finding a long branch I managed to fish out the male but the female was yet another foot further away. Searching for a willow branch to link to the branch in the water, I did in the end do the rescue not getting too wet which is more than I can say for my drenched little female. I just love the droplets on her wings and great to see her fly off again!
It doesn't take much to make me happy :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.