weewilkie

By weewilkie

lucky full moon morning

This is a blood moon. A full lunar eclipse of the sun. Not quite the coppery red that other parts of the planet will see it but startling enough to get me racing back upstairs to get the camera.
I was going out early to park my dad's car outside my flat. He comes back from Spain with my daughter later on this morning (in fact they are in the sky as I type). There dipping onto the western horizon was this moon. I ran to just beside the expressway and tried to get a good shot, but there was too much light from the streetlamps and passing cars.
So, not the sharpest image but a surprising one that gets me wide awake. Wide awake in this unique day, as every day is. It really shouldn't take a blood moon to stimulate this awareness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.