Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Fallen Camellia

Some days I set out on my photographic walks without the remotest idea of what I am going to shoot and wonder whether I will find anything worthy of posting on here. Today was such a day.

I started by retaking a shot from yesterday, which was knocked out of contention by the crumbling steps photo and rightly so. Walking further along James Street, I came upon a camellia bush in full bloom.

My eye was taken by the flowers and petals scattered on the ground; the victims of the heavy rain yesterday afternoon. I knew instantly that I had my photograph for the day.

This flower may have been denied its true destiny by the cruel elements but, as I gazed upon it, the pleasure it brought to me meant it had succeeded in fulfilling its preordained role.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.