Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Sidewalk Chalks

Telephoned the hospital in the UK in the early hours of this morning and have felt a bit blah all day. The temperature dropping 20 degrees didn't help either. I mean, come on, 63 degrees! :-)

I got out of the house a little earlier today in order to be able to watch Stoke City at Arsenal. I missed Arsenal's goal, I was faffing around as usual. Stoke's dire first half performance tempted me to post on the supporters' forum, "What time are Stoke due to arrive?"

But to their credit, Stoke did make a better fist of it in the second half and I consider they were perhaps a little unlucky not to come away with a point. But then again, when a side cannot get the basics of football right, like passing, they probably didn't deserve anything. I am afraid the Pulis brand of football is not my idea of football.

I spotted this box and an assortment of chalks on the sidewalk on James Street at the start of my walk. I didn't actually take the shot until making my way back home. I thought I could do better but a shot I had in mind didn't quite work out.

It was quite pleasing to see that, in an age when children are bombarded by so many sophisticated and electronic toys, something as simple as a box of chalks can still keep them entertained. I guess some things have a timeless quality and appeal.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.