Chatham Island forget me not

The Roma Garden is looking lovely despite a lack of care and attention over the past few months.

The first blooms of the native Clematis (Purity) have appeared on the back fence. You'll see them another day but it's these Chatham Island forget me nots that have caught my eye.

This is the first time they've flowered. I had one plant in as a trial last year. It flourished into, well, Chatham Island forget me not proportions and I thought it deserved a couple of mates :-)

I popped another two in back in autumn and now all three are flowering. It's a slow process, the buds have been evident for several weeks and now the flowers are appearing.

I told Mum what I'd planted but she never saw the flowers. I'm sure she would have thought them as lovely as I do.

Read more here

The fisher-hunter has helped me with the start of packing up the house for carpet laying on Friday. He passed me stuff up into the loft. It's a start and tomorrow I'll have to really get stuck in.

There was a bit of excitement when a large dark spider emerged from under my bed.

"Deal to it" I said (or possibly something more colourful ;-)

"Oh, it's a while tail, one of the largest I've ever seen" he unhelpfully said.

It's dealt with and I'm assured there won't be more because they eat other spiders and this one was big so it had eaten a lot of spiders.

That's the theory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.