charentefarm

By charentefarm

Hermione - part 2

Had to be rather brave yesterday as our neighbour invited me onto a fishing boat in order to photograph this lovely ship during her sea-trials in the Gironde estuary. It was a blustery day, with a very high tide - and me in a tiny boat, trying to protect my lens from salt spray!

Most of my visuals come from the back garden, so this was something of a departure; but our captain thankfully slowed down as we neared the frigate and we were able to circle it a couple of times, allowing me to hold the camera steady. Only two other small craft on the water with us... the rain held off and really it was quite fun in the end. (Just glad I'm not going to be crossing the Atlantic with her next April... )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.