Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Postcard from Cyprus

After a really short night, the day started mega early. Had to leave by 7am to be in Limassol for 8 to get to a Government office to pay a tax. My friend Rozalia came to help and as soon as I got there, I discovered I had forgotten the papers I need!! YIKES!! Fortunately, we still went in and were told there were just two documents we needed and we had one of them! I quickly worked out that the others were already in two different offices in Limassol, so G & I raced around town to collect them. Rozalia very kindly offered to finish this for me. Phew! What a relief!

As the next appointment wasn't till 3pm, G decided we had enough time to head to Platres for lunch - something I said I wanted to do when I booked the flights. What a treat! We had a meze at the restaurant we frequented when SweetArt lived here; then stopped in the forest on the way back for G to collect pine cones.

Got back to Limassol to find that the person whom I was meeting had completely forgotten!! That's Cyprus! So, we made our way to the Old Town (Castle area) and had a good look at some Lefkara Lace which is becoming a bit of a collector's item as the women in the village who make the lace products are coming to the end of their natural lives and the next generation aren't interested! I didn't find the piece I was looking for but have come away with what can only be described as an investment! The shop is located in such a beautiful part of the City and I couldn't resist taking pictures all over again of some of the amazing old buildings!

So really, all the images here tell a story of the day except for the pink Micra which had to be included for BCAM!! Headed back towards Zygi to catch the sunset and the moonrise which were quite exceptional. I've realised since - thanks to blip - that in some parts of the world, it has been a significant eclipse; I feel I should apologise for my very humble effort to capture the moon. Other blippers have posted some stunning images!

So... after a weekend of assembling furniture and *trying* to make most of the unexpected spare time and two and a half days of running around various offices, I am once again falling asleep over my keyboard. I have to stop here and I hope to have some more time for fun stuff tomorrow. Glad the day took such a positive turn despite its very early and fraught start! Last full day here...

PS. I am amazed at how G somehow always finds her way to the place she needs to be without knowing the way!! Sheer fluke I tell you though I'm sure there is loads of skill and good memory involved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.