Perche No?

Gelato, Helado, Glace . . . or as we know it, simply ice cream.
One of the most delicious and favourite, eat-any-time, desserts to finish off any meal. Yet I cannot resist it at any time.
As a very small youngster, as a special treat I was occasionally given pocket money by grandma to buy an ice cream on my way home from junior school. How was I to know that would grow into an obsession?
Years later, I have an overriding memory of a busy little shop just off Piazza Maggiore, the central square in Bologna, Italy, with the nondescript name of Perche No – Why Not. A strange name, I thought, but it was probably there that I was introduced to my first real Italian Gelato – creamy, intensely flavoured, and yummy.
Since then, I have learned to appreciate the delights of une glace in France and el helado in Spain, and that delightful frozen yoghurt in California.
But the peice d’resistance was when I bought my own ice cream maker just over a year ago. I have been experimenting ever since. I have tried all sorts of recipes and flavours, and enjoyed every one of them. I have my favourite which surprisingly is a straightforward vanilla. But these days I reckon I always have relatively freshly made ice cream in the freezer. I love it!
And, of course, totally ignore all the sugar and cream that goes into making it. Aah well, more calorie burning exercise tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.