Flying the flag

I always get a kick out of seeing a community being proud of its patriotic heritage and flying the flag, and I have long admired this example.
The Scandinavians are great for flying their national flag in front of their homes all year round, so why shouldn’t we adopt the habit. Of course when it’s time for England playing in international soccer or rugby tournaments, the cross of St George will be much in evidence. And on royal celebrations, when we are likely to see the Union Flag prominently displayed, especially on hotels, pubs and shops.
But what about other times of the year.? Why not fly the flag year round? I recall driving through Denmark in particular where it seems nearly every home has a flagpole on its front garden. In much of the rest of Europe too, and often in regional areas of the United States.
But for too long it seems, our national flag appears to be taken for granted. I do not remember being taught too much about our national flag, nor the Union Jack at school. It seemed that came when I was in the Scouts.
So if people in other countries are proud to fly their flag, why can’t we display the same patriotism?
I am assured that national flags may be flown every day of the year. While government and local authority buildings in England, Scotland and Wales are encouraged to fly national flags every day of the year, why shouldn’t everyone fly the flag at home.
No permission is needed; there are no planning regulations which prevent it, although flagpoles may be regulated by some authorities.
In the meantime, whenever I do see one fluttering, then I know I am proud to be British.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.